Jetpack 1.4 Comments: how to fix it

WordPress Jetpack just got new version 1.4 and here is post about it:

Jetpack Comments Now Available at a Launchpad Near You.

And it finally adds Jetpack comments:

Jetpack Comments has arrived!

We’re breaking down the barriers between you and your audience. When someone reads an article on your site and wants to comment, they can now use one of their existing social networking accounts to post a comment. No longer do they need to create yet another account and profile.

And it looks great, just like on wordpress.com bloogs:

But, users already have problems activating it, even if other commenting plugins were working before.

Problem is that most themes, changed way of commenting by adding custom commenting form instead of WordPress comment_form() function.

What to do?

So if you want to fix it by yourself there is a way, you just need to know little php, and not even to program in it just to recognize this comment form code in your theme.

But first, WARNING don’t do this if you are not sure what you are doing, and always backup your site before using any of this!!!

First go to your Dashboard – Appearance – Editor
This is editor for your theme files, on the right side you will see list of files that you can chose to edit.
Find comments.php and select it

Now hard part! You need to find comment <form> and </form> tags, and to select all of the lines betwen them, including <form> and </form>

For my theme was like this:

<form action=”<?php echo get_option(‘siteurl’); ?>/wp-comments-post.php” method=”post” id=”commentform”>
……
</form>

Copy all that lines and save somewere on your system, just in case you wont to return to previous state (And DO NOT forget to backup your site before all of this)

Now delete that lines and replace them with just this one line:

<?php comment_form(); ?>

Now click on update file button and go to your theme and check if is working.

Great you DID IT, you mastered replacing custom commenting form with WordPress default one.

If by any case you mess something,  mostly bad selection of <form> </form> you need to return all lines that you saved, or in extreamly bad cases recover your site from backup (don’t be scared this happens only if you play to much with code, and you don’t need it in this case)

PS just one more hint you can choose 3 themes for Jetpack comments go to Dashboard – Settings – Discussions and pick:

  • Light
  • Dark
  • Transparent

Have fun with your new Commenting system!

UPDATE:
Please consider rating this great JetPack plugin, Matt posted on JetPack blog call for help. Please give them rating they deserve - rate it now!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

100 thoughts on “Jetpack 1.4 Comments: how to fix it

  1. Judhianto says:

    Thank you for your info. It works for my blog!

  2. taamirplus says:

    Thanks, great info..

  3. Thanks says:

    Thanks, was looking for an instruction that would allow me to do this, greetings.

  4. Jorge Ledesma says:

    Excellent tutorial, it worked like a charm on my theme. Is there a CSS class to style and add some margins. Thanks in advance.

  5. [...] those that encounter any problems with the JetPack-comment feature, please do refer to this workaround fix. Seems like this fix works (by referring to the comments). Soon enough, I hope all of WordPress [...]

  6. thinks. save my blog :)

  7. Fabian says:

    It doesn’t work for me: When I press “post comment” there is just a blank site. The new URL then is: mysite.com/wp-comments-post.php

    What does that mean?

    • Bojan Cincur says:

      Are you sure that you removed all Form elements from comments.php ? It seams that there is still comment form that call that function…

      • Fabian says:

        Well, I deleted everything between the form tags including and . After pasting I can see the Jetpack comment fields. Right above, the old title ‘leave a comment’ or so ( I am working with the german version of it so it might be different) is still there.

        I believe the problem is in my default comments.php, but I am not sure since I am not a pro in coding. In my view there aren’t any parts of the comment form left. You can visit my site to see how it looks at the moment. I guess you will find the comment fields though everything is in german.

        By the way, thank you for posting that interesting article. ;-)

  8. Mark says:

    Bonjan,

    Do you have any experience with the Thesis theme? I use Thesis and cannot get Jetpack comments to work. As I’ve poked around the theme files it seems that Thesis does not use “comment_form” in the comments.php file. It has its own comment template that overrides the wordpress system.

    If I add “add_action(‘thesis_hook_comment_field’, ‘comment_form’);” to the custom_functions.php file Jetpack does show up (though I’ve not tested it), but the Thesis comment field is not removed giving two comment fields.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks!

    • Bojan Cincur says:

      Problem is that all Framework based themes mostly use Custom coded commenting. Its possible to fix it, but it requires some coding.

    • Mai Ikaru says:

      Hi Mark.
      I tried editing my comments.php in the WP-admin built-in editor and didnt see the stuff in the tutorial.
      Try this:
      1.) Manually edit through FTP or Online File manager of your site.
      2.) Go to /wp-content/themes/yourtheme/comments.php
      3.) Backup comments.php
      4.) Now Follow the tutorial above.

      Cheers

      Hope this works for you too.

  9. Thank you very much! Your tip works for me.

  10. I was wondering if you knew how to fix the iframe issue where the height doesn’t change? Right now on my blog, there is a massive space because the iframe height is set to like 315px when it’s closed. I have another theme “picoclean” on my testing blog where the iframe height is 91px when closed and the moment you open it, it goes to like 225px or something.

    I posted about this issue on the Jetpack page but no one seem to comment. It makes my blog design look very ugly. The theme I’m using is undedicated, the only major change I’ve ever made to it was adding more buttons adn css changes.

    Blanking out the CSS file doesn’t change anything, the box is still too large. I’ve figure out that it’ s a javascript issue or lack of code in my theme that exists in the picoclean theme. I’ve noticed that it’s not just the undedicated theme but even happens in the default unedited theme. The only plugin I have running is Jetpack itself.

    When I change the theme to undedicated, the comment box for jetpack is small and doens’t leave any sort of space under it, when you click to leave a comment it opens up. If I switch to the default wordpress theme or undedicated, there is a space under the close iframe.

    Looking at the code for the themes, the height for the iframe is 315px, however if I use Firebug it shows that the height is 91px… so there is some javascript changing the height base on if the jetpack comment box is open or not.

    How do I fix this? I don’t want to have to make a new theme or edit another theme where this isn’t a problem like picoclean. I’m not sure if there is something blocking the jetpack javascript from loading or not :/

    • Bojan Cincur says:

      Hi,

      Something strange is going on in your case, usually iFrame is 91px and than grows up to 343px depends if you are logged or not. In your case I could get that some code that is in your theme is making some kind on conflict with Jetpack but I can’t be sure.

      Please wait for them to resolve your issue, it seams rather specific to theme that you are using.

      • focushot says:

        Yeah that’s what I was thinking too, however I did put in a ticket and have yet to hear back from them. I did some testing and one of the things I noticed was that, when I changed my theme to the default theme that comes with wordpress, it did the same thing. This was on a fresh new install of wordpress with no edits or anything.

        So I disabled every plugin but Jetpack and again it was the same issue. It was showing a space. I was thinking maybe because I’m running WordPress as MU it was the issue but I’ve be able to find some themes that the issue didn’t exists. So I’m not even sure what to think code wise that could cause it.

        Thanks for the quick reply however.

        • Bojan Cincur says:

          Now that’s strange…
          So on twenty ten and eleven you had same problem. You will need to post issue to JetPack team, because something is off… maybe PHP version, but they will know what to do.

          • Focushot says:

            I want to give a follow up on the fix, I finally put in a support topic and turns out it was a bug with comments not working right if you disabled threaded comments, which I had on some blogs I run but not others. So as a result, its now fixed and I was told in the thread it would be hot fixed in a future update.

          • Bojan Cincur says:

            That is great info, thank you for follow up.

  11. I really appreciate the help! I was trying to get it figured out. This saved me much time and money!

  12. Rizqi Fahma says:

    Hi Bojan

    Thanks for your tips. Now the jetpack comment works on my blog. :)

  13. Linesh Jose says:

    Thank you. It’s working on my blog too :)

  14. Mai Ikaru says:

    Hi Bojan.

    I tried editing my comments.php in the WP-admin built-in editor and didnt see the stuff in the tutorial.
    So I tried this:
    1.) Manually edit through FTP or Online File manager of my site.
    2.) Go to /wp-content/themes/mytheme/comments.php
    3.) Backup comments.php
    4.) Now Follow the tutorial above.

    Cheers

    Hope this works for people having problem with the tutorial.

    • Bojan Cincur says:

      Thanks for additional guide, What theme do you use? I never saw theme that I couldn’t edit its files in wp-admin editor…

    • Hi,

      I’m using Thesis, and so original tutorial doesn’t work. I looked at the comments.php file manually through FTP, but it doesn’t include the form tags – just a custom thesis bit about passwords and user ID.

      Any ideas anyone?

      Thanks

      Mark

  15. John says:

    How come on your site, the jetpack form isn’t in an iframe? And do you have to go about displaying the comments in a special way?

    • Bojan Cincur says:

      Because this blog is posted in wordpress.com and this is not JetPack feature but core wordpress.com feature. So there is no need to call any iFrame’s

  16. Bryan Eggers says:

    I’m glad I ran across your suggestion because I couldn’t get Jetpack’s social comments to work on my old Studiopress theme. They had some custom comment code but your fix worked just fine. The only other thing I had to do was to disable the Captcha plugin. It works great! Thanks!

  17. rosiecrunchyprices says:

    Thanks for the tutorial. Has only partially worked for me – I am still missing the text for: Notify me of follow-up comments via email and Notify me of new posts via email. Any help would be much appreciated! (my website is http://www.absolutelylondon.com and i’m using the theme wp-smooth)

    • Bojan Cincur says:

      Hello,
      Just to to dashboard – settings – discussion
      And under Jetpack Subscriptions Settings check options:
      Show a ‘follow blog’ option in the comment form &
      Show a ‘follow comments’ option in the comment form
      And that’s it.

  18. fino says:

    i have similiar problem… i already change he code but stil facing the same thing, comment redirect to jetpack.me

  19. Jorge says:

    YOOtheme use a template, and the comment box jetpack was working perfectly using the 1.6 but when I upgrade to 1.7 does not work putting the old comment box, when I change the file comment.php putting the sentence is up, gives me JETPACK comment box but with errors and comments made are not shown. please help me

  20. Awesome! Thank you for your information.

  21. Thanks, bro!
    You the man!

  22. asagiseyit says:

    i did what the introduction sadly i am still getting same error Sorry, but there was an error posting your comment. Please try again later.

    my original comment.php is here is anyone can fix it for me ?

    http://www.cesaret.org/comment.php.txt

    Thanks.

  23. Anthony West says:

    Awesome, worked like a charm. Thanks!

  24. aderojas says:

    Thanks A LOT for this blog post, I’ve been looking for this option for months!!!

  25. John says:

    It’s a good way to manage commenting system , I’l try it mt own site and i like it , thanks

  26. Saroj Karki says:

    Thank you very much.. its really helped me ..

  27. Paul says:

    No luck.

    Running two sites. Both the comment UI has not got the social, email etc under like here on this site.

    One site the comment will work, the other you click post comment and it does nothing.

    both have the same theme…

  28. vinnyvchi says:

    asdf

  29. [...] My Resources for the tweaks are here. [...]

  30. zygmurti says:

    I think I have a different problem. The comment box appears in my posts ok but I get an error message after I try to post the comment

    “You do not have permission to access this document.”

    Do you know what might be the problem here

    test post here
    http://coffeecrankscoop.org.uk/new-post-2/

    I’d be really grateful for some help. I haven’t tried the solution posted here yet as I didn’t think it would be necessary as the comment box appears ok.

    Cheers

    Zym

  31. I loved up to you’ll receive carried out right here. The caricature is attractive, your authored subject matter stylish. nevertheless, you command get bought an impatience over that you wish be handing over the following. sick for sure come more previously once more as precisely the same nearly a lot steadily inside of case you shield this increase.

  32. that does`nt work for me.. in my drive yootheme.. i deleted everything and included but i got no change .
    mail id is
    lovenavdeepjimmy@gmail.com

  33. Joel Schmidt says:

    I tried this fix, and it didn’t work for me. Jetpack Comments used to work great until I disabled it due to a conflict with CommentLuv. Unfortunately, CommentLuv now isn’t working with my theme’s native comment system, so I would like to reactivate Jetpack Comments. However, I can’t even find the Jetpack Comments settings in my admin interface. Please help!

  34. miri says:

    I tried this, but it doesn’t work. I get a comment form and people can successfully submit comments, but when I try to approve them, nothing happens. I tried a “reply and approve” and received a 404 error. Any ideas? Thanks!

  35. Fantastic worked a treat :)

  36. Gilang says:

    Thanks Bojan, JETPACK COMMENT RUN for me

  37. speldie23 says:

    Thanks heaps!

  38. Needle says:

    I tried it and it worked but the regular comment box showed up above Jetpack’s. Anyway you can help me fix this issue?

  39. I was having the same trouble and I was tearing my hair out. I checked out this fix, but the comments file in my template was already right.

    It turned out to be something much simpler: in the discussion settings, make sure to check OFF “users must be registered to comment”.

  40. I was also having the same problem,
    but when I turned OFF comment LUV plugin it worked on my website.

  41. I savor, cause I found exactly what I was having a look for. You’ve ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

  42. Baljit says:

    Yes this is what I was looking, I am using the code to allow my users to post comments on my webpage. I am looking for a plugin for comment luv

  43. After spotting a copy of ‘All Tomorrow’s Parties’. Burger King expects about 75 more redesigned restaurants to be open and at the moment. While most start ups may have humble beginnings with only one person working, you might consider moving elsewhere. ‘This was beginning to
    sound like a Roxy Music reunion. Likewise, if you are doing a large Remodel Recessed
    Lighting or renovation.

  44. remodel programing a kitchen is not something that you should rush through and by taking yourtime and getting input from a variety of medium toned neutral
    colors to make sure we had enough. Thus, the paint will end up with a less than
    desirable choice because you ran out of time or have a pick
    up truck on hand for hauling the rubbish to the dump. In honor of the
    completion of an extensive remodel program, the Lompoc Animal Shelter,
    located at 1501 W.

  45. George says:

    Would someone please tell me how to change the text “One thought On” to something else?
    Also, how do I delete the Website fill in box?
    Thanks.

  46. Kristeen says:

    If you might be seriously considering purchasing a await your child, think long and hard in regards to the type of watch you need to give them,
    when you give it to them, and whether the wrist watch
    should be analogue or digital. So why is this watch
    jump out among its many competitors. Compared with sports watches, this time around piece is little soft on features.

  47. hoonseEnala says:

    kxzvflcuaoj tuliffltd adpeqlry [url=http://www.beyondthelimitation.com/ポーター-長財布-c-3.html]ポーター バッグ メンズ[/url], mgumsxsmddh wkdxtkrut wyoutfnx [url=http://www.abundantlifemcc.org/c-47_48.html]コーチ バッグ アウトレット[/url],lildmzbroet vysednzdx ozudyxsv [url=http://www.apartyhoteliberoargentina.com/レディース-ローファー-c-3.html]ドクターマーチン アウトレット[/url], evdekpgzdkp jofakknqk ixxoujko [url=http://www.zugloportal.info/c-15.html]ザノースフェイス リュック[/url],vlprgcbckez lyxbnvwlo ivayrbhg [url=http://www.xpressitbd.com/samantha-kingz-財布-c-20_22.html]サマンサタバサ 財布[/url],boexlczskha otgfnlsrw agjkpsng [url=http://www.web2secrets.com/ディーゼル-ショルダーバッグ-c-16.html]ディーゼル 時計 メンズ[/url],mpjefjlaiir hsgojjyup csnzpvre [url=http://www.woofan.net/]サマンサタバサ バッグ 新作[/url],ffanykkruyy ililtqnit vtvsnuup

  48. Graham Berry says:

    Great post. Any idea how to change the text color of the two lines: “Notify me of follow-up comments via email.” and “Notify me of new posts via email.”? For some reason the dark theme is making that text white but I want it black. I want to include those two options but the background is white and I want people to be able to read what the boxes are for.

  49. effortboards says:

    Thanks!

  50. A few years ago, one of our local residents, Mac Vorce, who is also a bicycle enthusiast petitioned for the development of bicycle paths and trails.
    his comic roles in movies like Hungama, Waqt: The Race against Time,
    Malamaal. Brad Garret is a stand-up comedian but also well
    known for his acting career.

  51. Rhid says:

    On my site, I can’t see avatars unless someone posts with wordpress. I see them in my dashboard, but not on the site. What do I have to do to show the avatars if people login with Facebook or twitter?

  52. I have read so many posts on the topic of the blogger lovers except this post is genuinely
    a good paragraph, keep it up.

  53. […] CEO of the Romanian Employers’ Confederation, Mr. Alexandru Bojan and SWEDCHAM’s founder, Mr. Julian Rosengren signed the partnership […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 963 other followers

